RACE REPORT - 24th May 2025

FINLAY AND ANTONIA WIN UKA SHORT COURSE FELL & HILL CHAMPIONSHIPS AT GRANITE PEAKS IN NORTHERN IRELAND

Distance: 9.6km; Climb: 760 metres

Finlay Grant (Dark Peak Fell Runners) and Antonia Fan (Ambleside AC) claim gold at the UKA British Fell & Hill Championship (short course) in Northern Ireland.

The Northern Ireland Mountain Running Association (NIMRA) hosted the 2025 UK Athletics Short Course Hill and Fell Running Championships at the Granite Peaks Race. 75 runners tacked the 9.6km course with 760 metres of climb.

The race starts in Happy Valley in the Mourne Mountains and follows the Ulster Way before climbing the iconic Slieve Bearnagh (739 metres). The route then descends steeply to Polluphuca (Gap of the Malevolent Fairies) then climbs the peaks of Slieve Meelmore (687m) and Meelbeg (702m) and ends with a super-fast descent back to Happy Valley.

In a very close men's race, Finlay Grant (Dark Peak Fell Runners) took the win in 55:01, with Dan Dry (Shettleston Harriers) just three seconds behind in second place (55:04). Matthew Elkington (Ambleside AC) took the bronze medal (55:09).

Antonia Fan (Ambleside) took gold in the women's race (1:14:50), with Karen Wilton (Jog Lisburn Running Club, 1:15:12) in second and Rebecca Magee (Newcastle and District AC, 1:15:52) winning bronze.

Findlay Grant also took the under 23 men's gold medal, with Rebecca Magee (Newcastle & District AC) claiming the women's U23 gold.

The winners in the women's veteran categories were Rachel Pilling (Pudsey & Bramley AC, V40), Tricia Smith (Unattached, V45), Karen Wilton (Jog Lisburn Running Club, V50), Diane Wilson (Dromore AC, V50), Kathleen Monteverde (BARF, V60) and Anne Daykin (Clayton-le-Moors Harriers, V65).

The men's veteran gold medal winners were Ben Abdelnoor (Ambleside AC, V40), Ben Tetler (Glossopdale Harriers, V45), Shaun Godsman (Calder Valley Fell Runners, V50), Stephen Smithies (Calder Valley Fell Runners, V55), Paul Cornforth (Ambleside AC, V60), Colin Donnelly (Cambuslang Harriers, V65) and Brian Thompson (Helm Hill Runners, V70).

Thanks again to NIMRA for hosting the Championships. Full results on the NIMRA website

MEDAL WINNERS

CATEGORY	GOLD	SILVER	BRONZE
FEMALE	Antonia Fan	Karen Wilton	Rebecca Magee
	Ambleside AC	Jog Lisburn Running Club	Newcastle and District AC
F23	Rebecca Magee	Meadow McCauley	
	Newcastle and District AC	Portadown Running Club	

F40-44	Rachel Pilling		
	Pudsey & Bramley AC		
F45-49	Tricia Smith	Hazel McLaughlin	
	Unattached	Lagan Valley AC	
F50-54	Karen Wilton	Mel Price	Lou Osborn
	Jog Lisburn Running Club	Mercia Fell Runners	Keswick AC
F55-59	Diane Wilson		
	Dromore AC		
F60-64	Kathleen Monteverde	Joanna Schreiber	
	BARF	Pudsey & Bramley AC	
F65-69	Anne Daykin		
	Clayton-le-Moors Harriers		
F70			
MALE	Finlay Grant	Dan Dry	Matthew Elkington
	Dark Peak Fell Runners	Shettleston Harriers	Ambleside AC
M23	Finlay Grant	George Baker	Ashley Crutchley
	Dark Peak Fell Runners	Ambleside AC	Newcastle and District AC
M40-44	Ben Abdelnoor	Alex Whittem	Sam Herron
	Ambleside AC	Calder Valley Fell Runners	Mourne Runners
M45-49	Ben Tetler	Mark O'Connor	Andrew Mott
	Glossopdale Harriers	Calder Valley Fell Runners	Westerlands Cross Country Club
M50-54	Shaun Godsman	Drew Sharkey	Virgil Barton
	Calder Valley Fell Runners	Carnethy Hill Racing Club	Calder Valley Fell Runners
M55-59	Stephen Smithies	Dean Ralphson	Mark Dugan
	Calder Valley Fell Runners	Trawden Athletic Club	Ballydrain Harriers
M60-64	Paul Cornforth	Dale Mathers	Paul Le Blanc
	Ambleside AC	Mourne Runners	Newry AC
M65-69	Colin Donnelly	John Langton	Mervyn Keys

	Cambuslang Harriers	Mercia Fell Runners	Rossendale Harriers & AC
M70	Brian Thompson	Michael McLoughlin	Andy Watts
	Helm Hill Runners	Preston Harriers	Cheshire Hill Racers