

The Fell Runners Association Limited Minutes of 2020 Annual General Meeting Langdale, Cumbria, 10th October 2020



Preliminary matters

Format

The annual general meeting ("AGM") of The Fell Runners Association Limited ("FRA") for 2020 was held on the morning of 10th October 2020, chaired by Charmian Heaton, FRA Chairman.

Owing to the exceptional circumstances around the COVID-19 pandemic and consequent social restrictions, it had not been possible to arrange the 2020 FRA AGM in the standard format. Having taken advice from various quarters, the meeting was held behind closed doors with a minimal in-person attendance from FRA Committee members, namely the Chairman and Secretary. This was in line with the approach taken by (amongst others) England Athletics, whose 2020 AGM by coincidence fell on the same date.

Attendance

Thirty (30) proxy forms had been received and verified by the Chairman and Membership Secretary, thereby rendering the meeting quorate in accordance with article 12 of the FRA's articles of association.

Minutes of the previous meeting

The previous AGM had been held at Barley, Pendle, on 16th November 2019. The minutes had been available for inspection on the FRA website since shortly thereafter. The only change was the correction of a typographical error in the item "Establishment of co-opted roles".

Resolution: The motion to approve the minutes of the 2018-2019 AGM was passed *nem. con.*, with two votes withheld.

Ordinary resolutions

Chairman's report

The Chairman's report on FRA matters had been made available in full on the FRA website prior to the AGM. This covered in particular the effects of ongoing social restrictions on fell running, which sadly had wreaked havoc not only with the entire 2020 fell running season but also the FRA's 50th anniversary plans.

The report also recorded the very successful Race Organiser meetings held in January 2020, following which a thorough review of the FRA's rules had been conducted. Key changes for 2021 were to include the complete prohibition of GPS for navigation in all FRA races, lower entry fees for FRA members in some races and the introduction of a race licensing policy. Progress had also been made on the nascent Club Ambassador scheme and the new FRA website, which it was hoped would go live during 2021.

Resolution: The motion to approve the Chairman's report was passed unanimously.

PROVISIONAL UNTIL 2021 AGM

Treasurer's report and 2019 accounts

The FRA's accounts for 2019 had been made available on the FRA's website prior to the AGM. The FRA Treasurer, Andy Watts, had additionally published these together with a report in the spring 2020 issue of *The Fellrunner* magazine. The report stated that the FRA remained well in the black, with no likelihood of an increase in subscriptions being needed soon. The accounts showed a significant reduction in income for 2019, but the key causes had been addressed through Committee actions during 2020.

Resolution: The motion to approve the accounts for 2019 was passed unanimously.

Appointment of an auditor

The Treasurer had proposed that Mike Welford be reappointed as auditor of the FRA accounts.

Resolution: The motion to approve Mike Welford as auditor was passed *nem. con.,* with one vote being withheld.

Establishment of co-opted roles

The Chairman proposed to extend by a further year Richard Brown's co-option as FRA Commercial Adviser, and to co-opt James Lowe (previously a Membership Representative) as Communications Officer, replacing Britta Sendlhofer. The remaining co-opted Committee Member, Sarah McCormack (Under-23 Co-ordinator), was standing down with no immediate replacement to be appointed.

Resolution: The motion to approve the two co-opted appointments was passed unanimously.

Election of Officers for 2020-2021

Nominations for Committee positions had been posted on the FRA website along with the meeting agenda; however, Catherine Slater had withdrawn her candidacy for a Membership Representative position. The Chairman stated that since all named Committee roles had exactly one nominee (or, in the case of Membership Representatives, fewer than the maximum of four nominees), these would be elected unopposed. The full FRA Committee for 2020-21 is included at Appendix 1.

Vote of thanks for outgoing officers

The Chairman paid tribute to all outgoing Committee members (Dave Bowen, Sarah McCormack, Catherine Slater and Britta Sendlhofer) and thanked the incoming Committee members (Dave Littler and Andy McMurdo), as well as the whole Committee for their work during the previous year.

Date of next meeting

The date of the next AGM will be published in due course on the FRA website and in *The Fellrunner* magazine but is likely to be on or around Saturday 9th October 2021, to align with the Langdale Horseshoe fell race.

<oríginal signed>

Neil Talbott FRA Secretary 10th October 2020

> The Fell Runners Association Limited is a private company limited by guarantee Registered in England and Wales under company number 07878976 Registered office: 90 Hazelwood Road, Wilmslow, United Kingdom, SK9 2QA

Appendix 1: FRA Committee 2020-21

Following the resolutions passed at the AGM, the FRA Committee for 2020-21 will comprise the following personnel:

Chairman	Charmian Heaton
General Secretary	Neil Talbott
Treasurer	Andy Watts
Membership Secretary	Patrick McIver
Fixtures Secretary	Andy McMurdo
Magazine Co-ordinator	Dave Littler
Race Liaison Officer Lead	Stuart Ferguson
Website Officer	Brett Weeden
Environment and Access Officer	Nicky Spinks
Junior Co-ordinator	Helene Whitaker
International Selection Committee Chair	Duncan Richards
Coaching and Education Co-ordinator	Nigel Hetherington
Championships Co-ordinator	Lesley Malarkey
Welfare Officer	Ed Gamble
Liaison Officer to Athletics Bodies	Wendy Dodds
Membership Representatives	Ben Abdelnoor
	lan Winterburn
Commercial Adviser (co-opted)	Richard Brown
Communications Officer (co-opted)	James Lowe